A vocal family – this is MOMENTUM Vocal Music. We are an artistic and educational community dedicated to the power of the human voice and want to spread the joy of singing through concerts, workshops and education projects .With two ensembles (MOMENTUM Festival Choir and MOMENTUM Vocal Ensemble), a music education department and the podcast “sprech:Gesang”, we are constantly seeking to explore new facets of singing in a group and communicating them to audiences. Due to this unique structure, MOMENTUM Vocal Music are able to perform most of the choral and vocal repertoire throughout the centuries. As music education is an integral part of the organisation’s work, previous and current project partners include Vokalakademie Niederösterreich and Konzerthaus Wien.

By commissioning not only compositions, but also transcriptions and arrangements, the MOMENTUM Vocal Ensemble is exploring new ways of experiencing choral and ensemble music. In 2019 the ensemble took its first concert tour through Austria, performing and recording the cross-cultural oratorio “Vocal Klezmer Sounds”. Following concert performances included J.S. Bach’s “Actus Tragicus” (BWV 106) in the cathedral of Klagenfurt and “Le Cantique des Cantiques” by Jean-Yves Daniel-Lesur. In 2020/2021 the ensemble will be performing and recording premieres of arrangements and transcriptions of works by Richard Strauss and Heinrich Schütz as well as motets by J.S. Bach, Claudio Monteverdi’s Fourth Book of Madrigals and Anton Heiller’s “Passionsmusik”.

The MOMENTUM Festival Choir encompasses the breadth of choral repertoire from the renaissance to today. In 2020-2021 the choir will perform and record grand choral works like Alfred Schnittke’s Choir Concerto, Hubert Parry’s “Songs of Farewell” and Frank Martin’s “Mass for Double Choir” as well as the “English Mass” and the “Dreifaltigkeitsproprium” by Anton Heiller.

© 2020 by Momentum Vocal Music

Photos by Theresa Pewal & Johannes Herrnegger

Eine vokale Familie – das ist MOMENTUM Vocal Music. Wir sind eine künstlerisch-gemeinnützige Community und wollen die Freude an der Vielseitigkeit der menschlichen Stimme durch Konzerte, Workshops und Musikvermittlungsprojekte in die Gesellschaft hineintragen. Mithilfe einer einzigartigen Organisationsstruktur – bestehend aus zwei Ensembles (MOMENTUM Festival Choir und MOMENTUM Vocal Ensemble), einer Musikvermittlungsabteilung und dem Podcast „sprech:Gesang“ – suchen wir nach neuen Wegen, verschiedenste Facetten des gemeinsamen Singens an unser Publikum zu kommunizieren und einen möglichst breiten Einblick in den Repertoireschatz der Vokalmusik zu liefern. Ein essenzieller Bestandteil der Tätigkeiten von MOMENTUM Vocal Music ist die Musikvermittlung – so entstanden Projekte und Kooperationen mit der Vokalakademie Niederösterreich und dem Konzerthaus Wien.

 

Der MOMENTUM Festival Choir umspannt die Breite des chorischen Repertoires von der Renaissance bis zur Gegenwart. In der Saison 2020/2021 stehen Aufführungen und Aufnahmen zahlreicher vokaler Kostbarkeiten auf dem Programm, wie etwa Alfred Schnittkes „Konzert für Chor“, Hubert Parrys “Songs of Farewell” und Frank Martins “Messe für Doppelchor” sowie die “English Mass” und das “Dreifaltigkeitsproprium” von Anton Heiller.

Das MOMENTUM Vocal Ensemble widmet sich - zusätzlich zu Schlüsselwerken der Vokalliteratur, Ur- und Erstaufführungen - auch Arrangements und Transkriptionen bereits vorhandener Werke und erforscht damit neue Perspektiven auf Chor- und Ensemblemusik. Im Jahr 2019 ging das MOMENTUM Vocal Ensemble mit dem “kulturübergreifenden Oratorium” Vocal Klezmer Sounds erstmals auf Österreich-Tournee, gefolgt von einer CD-Aufnahme ebenjenes Programms. Noch im gleichen Jahr wurden Johann Sebastian Bachs “Actus Tragicus” (BWV 106) im Klagenfurter Dom sowie “Le Cantique des Cantiques” von Jean-Yves Daniel-Lesur in der Lutherischen Stadtkirche Wien aufgeführt. Die Saison 2020/2021 hält Aufführungen und Aufnahmen von Johann Sebastian Bachs Motetten, Monteverdis “Quarto libro dei madrigali” und Anton Heillers “Passionsmusik” bereit. Zusätzlich dazu stehen Arrangements von Strauss-Liedern und der „Musikalischen Exequien“ von Heinrich Schütz sowie andere Erst- und Uraufführungen auf dem Saisonplan.

© 2020 by MOMENTUM Vocal Music

Photos by Theresa Pewal & Johannes Herrnegger